12 September 2014

D. Carbone - Anomalies EP (Mord 011 - 2014)

Another session of intrepid acid techno by the Berlin-based Italian D. Carbone, this time paying a visit to Bas Mooy's Mord imprint. Relying on the formulas developed in his Repitch labs of industrial techno, unstoppable Carbone serves with "Anomalies EP" another set of machine-driven rudities.
Acid showers and boisterous kick drum show the way in "Irritating Collapse", getting seriously off the leash after the mid-track drop. The the post-collapse phase is led by linear darkside mover "Origin", the most conventional track of the EP.
Dramatic events continue on the B-side, opening with a devastating tidal wave called "Discernment" good for physical punishment. Of different breed is "Machine Elves", falling to the dark ambient territory without making the impression of compulsory "downtempo" fill-in. As an expression of mythological force, its ultra-slow distorted bass and glistening pad sequence address both the Beauty and the Beast.

Buy vinyl from Juno
Buy vinyl from Hard Wax

05 September 2014

Mike Dred - Techno Satellites (Machine Codes CODE1100 - 2014)

Without any promo drumming, Michael Cullan aka Mike Dred has dropped a 11-track acid album "Techno Satellites", out digitally on Dred's own Machine Codes label.
Dred has been part of techno's evolution for over 20 years and produced several memorable tracks like "Macrocosm", still one of my fave acid excursions. Some of his glitchy IDM experiments under the Kosmik Kommando alias left me a bit puzzled but the new album shows again Dred's wealth of production skills.
Perhaps 70 minutes of acid in one go is too exhausting experience but the selection allows to find own favorites. Mine are "Pasiphaë" with biting sawtooth sequence, then bittersweet rave-age groover "Telesto" and fast lane experience "Hydra". "Techno Satellites" is currently available from Dred's Bandcamp page and the vinyl version will depend on expected demand.

Buy digital from Bandcamp

02 September 2014

Juno Chart 08/2014: Aisha Devi, Surgeon, Anopolis, Perc & Truss, OB Ignitt

A selection of most exciting records from August. Switzerland's Aisha Devi, replacing her Kate Wax alias with the real name, impresses with hardcore-inclined experimental EP "Hakken Dub/Throat Dub" on own Danse Noire imprint. Seasoned techno pal Surgeon still in strong form, dropping "Fixed Action Pattern", a two-tracker of infectous grooves and deep drones. Greece is calling when Anopolis collective surfs in the waves of cosmic disco and acid house and for eardrum challenge UK heads Perc & Truss come up with "Two Hundred". Real Detroit sound can be enjoyed on OB Ignitt's new EP and TOP 6 is wrapped up with dark compressor beats by Monica Hits The Ground.

my link to juno records

01 September 2014

Terminal 313 Podcast (August 2014)

Tracklist with buy links:
1. R-Zone - Xochi's Awakening (R-Zone)
2. Sendai - Directive (Monad XVIII Stroboscopic Artefacts)
3. Svaag – Sade (Semantica)*
4. Rrose - Drowned by Sight (Stroboscopic Artefacts)*
5. As Patria - The World (Attic Music)*
6. Voiski - Ode To A Model (Sheik’N’Beik)*
7. Edit Select & Teste - Ascend (edit select)
8. Fanon Flowers - Vultures Circling (Planet Rhythm)
9. Killawatt - Convoys (Run Out Run)*
10. Jamie Curnock – Scavenger (Onnset)*
11. Reeko & Exium – Circuit 1 (Mental Disorder)*
12. Oscar Mulero - Epley Manoeuvre (Warm-Up Recordings)
13. Perc - Tri-City (Stroboscopic Artefacts)*
14. Surgeon - Fixed Action Pattern (TOKEN)
15. Tony Capstick-Carlton Main & Frickley Colliery Band - Capstick Comes Home (Dingle’s Records)
16. Perc & Truss - Judd (Perc Trax)
17. Martyn Hare - The Bitter Pill (Darkcell Remix) (Emetic)*
18. Stef Mendesidis – Edict (Semantica Exhibition Design)
19. D. Carbone - Irritating Collapse (Mord)*
20. Mescalinium United - We Have Arrived (Planet Core Productions)
21. Valved - Tipping Point (AnD Tipped Over The Edge & Back Again Remix) (Trensmat)
22. Sleeparchive - Loop 1 (Repitch)*
23. Cube 40 - Bad Computa Version (Force Inc Music Works)
24. Beau Wanzer – Lotraf (Nation)
25. Ulwhednar - Midvinter 2 (Northern Electronics)
*unreleased as of today

28 August 2014

Perc & Truss - Two Hundred (Perc Trax Limited ‎PTL003 - 2014)

Perc Trax challenging the eardrums again when the label boss teams up with Truss for a robust four-tracker. Pressed in clear vinyl for the label's Limited series, it bests their last year's "Spiker".
Because of Blacknecks-style power disco riff sprayed with acid, the "Two Hundred" feels more like a Truss track. For further chaos, a bruised spoken loop around two hundred points at the vocal chop mania once started by Blawan.
Hardcore side is exposed in "Judd" [really liking simple but striking track names, not crap like "Levitate The Transcendental Perception"] where whistles and heavy slam provide the build-up for a Saturday night Premier League fixture and a rave thereafter.
On the flip, the charge goes on in acidified not-love-song "Forever Your Girl" built on thrashy kick and T99 stabs. Apparently a tribute to the 1970s TV detective, dubbish semi-electro "Van Der Valk"  is a secret weapon camouflaged as fledgling jungle or UK garage track.
While most Perc Trax releases belong to the brutal end of the spectrum, "Two Hundred" shows different facets of techno soundwriting. Ready, steady, go!

Buy vinyl from Juno
Buy digital from Perc Trax

25 August 2014

Surgeon - Fixed Action Pattern (Token Records TOKEN46 - 2014)

As the title suggests it is about a pattern. Similar to Surgeon's recent "As You Breathe Here Now" on Semantica, the new twelve is built on a simple but appealing groove, which keeps repeating in the mind as if a chart buster heard on the radio. The original dirty bass techno from the man equals the definition of immersive and to-the-point beat science.
After pleasing the floor, the B-side's dub version shows abstract notes of dark room electronics akin to British Murder Boys material, with drone layers and mutant unicorn whispers.
Surgeon wisely keeping a relaxed release schedule, the Token single is his another showdown in the dance department after the Anthony Child album on NNA and British Murder Boys EP for Downwards. It also suggests that after having sailed the Seven Seas of techno, Surgeon is still capable to extract a catchy groove.
"Fixed Action Pattern" is a prequel to "Aphelion", Token's forthcoming compilation of new and exclusive material.

21 August 2014

Edit Select & Teste - The Rewipes (edit-select ES018 - 2014)

Firstly, it's a welcome initiative by Scotland's Tony Scott aka Edit Select to unearth a famed techno classic "The Wipe" by Teste, originally out on Probe Records USA in 1992. Even though "The Wipe" and especially the "5 a.m. Synaptic" mix never really collected the dust, it might have been a track rather cherished by those remembering the days back then.
For the new round, Scott had selected and edited the original for his own DJ sets and after contacting Dave Foster and Thomas S. Browning from Teste they decided to issue the edit.
The original is immediately recognizable, only the BPM rate has been cut back to comply with the not-over-140-BPM syndrome of today's techno. Furnished with traces of dub, synth abrasions and deep bass line recalling Beltram's "Energy Flash", the track does not offer anything unexpected, leaving the oldie the preferred choice.
New material is found on the flip: A collab of Edit Select and Teste, "Ascend" is a striking name for the track where arps spiral upwards true to the psy-trance traditions. Definitely not dark techno but a cheerful piece, sounding both beautiful and stimulating, thus a real bonus to the edit.
The revival is not limited to that because a remix package has been announced, featuring real techno warhorses like Rrose, Function, Luke Slater, Dino Sabatini, Terence Fixmer, Lucy, Claudio PRC, Mike Parker and Shifted.

Buy vinyl from Juno
Buy vinyl from Boomkat